Scheduled update – 6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 ) & 11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

Posted: February 11, 2012 by ralliart12 in ~ § Aquascape § ~
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the first batch of new Aquascape-related content published in the format of individual posts as opposed to the original “Aquascape” single page that details the humble beginnings of my re-visit into an old hobby.

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

6th February 2011 ( Week #8 Day #7 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

11th February 2011 ( Week #9 Day #5 )

Essentially there is nothing exciting about the status of my HC lawn, i.e. some portions are spreading, some portions are “melting”. That is after 2 weeks of using the Arcadia Plant Pro T5 tubes as the source of illumination. Leaving the acrylic cover unused contributed much to the defeat of the cyanobacteria on the conspicuous regions of the substrate, but as I have completely wrapped the sides of the tank with reflective paper, I am able to observe the “algae” has retreated to the far edges of the substrate & is just residing slightly beneath the surface of the topsoil, bidding its time to engage me in another battle. Besides changing the type of T5 tubes & leaving the cover off, I have not really made any major changes into how this main tank is run. I was busy with some other “small project“. I am two full weeks away from the third month that this tank has undergone a “Dry-start Method” implementation. For the final two weeks of this third month, I’m switching back to my Osram 6500K tubes, & using the acrylic cover; my tank contents are losing significant amount of moisture due to the warm weather of January as well as the unrestricted air circulation.

On the other hand, I’m reminded of the short amount of time to generate the final list of plants that has to be situated in the tank upon flooding. & I still need to prepare the rocks, i.e. smashing & boiling them. & I still need to figure out how to tie mosses on the irregular surfaces of my driftwood. There is simply much to prepare, but I suppose the concept of hobbies involves the idea of killing (spare) time in the first place. Still, I am looking forward to flooding the tank (in 2 weeks’ time) with the full set of plants, rocks, wood & water, but nothing can prepare me for the storm beyond the horizon

Leave a Reply

