NDP Fireworks frm the Ritz Carlton

Posted: July 25, 2009 by ralliart12 in ScratchPad
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The 3 musketeers for a refreshing shower.

The 3 musketeers for a refreshing shower.

Many thanks to my cousin who presented us the opportunity to have a go at viewing one of the National Day Parade rehearsals from a 19th-floor room in the prestigious Ritz Carlton hotel! Unfortunately, I did not manage to capture any decent shots of the splendid fireworks that garnered the canvas of the night sky on this very occasion 😦 These unacceptable results were due to:

  • Ad-hoc preparation on how to shoot fireworks, i.e. last minute reading of materials on the train
  • Lack of tripod
  • Pressing of lens barrel to the glass panel that was actually vibrating from the explosions
  • Forgetting that any tiny amount of camera shake will give an inversely huge amount of blur during long exposures
  • Forgetting to use burst mode to ensure continuous capture of every single moment

Nice bathroom

Nice bathroom

This is...NOT how you should snap a firework

This is...NOT how you should snap a firework display

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

Likewise

I tot I had it covered, limiting to small apertures (F8.0 is the smallest my camera can go) to prevent overblown fireworks, limiting ISO to 100 to prevent too much noise from the rest of the dark, black skies, extending exposure to 4 seconds to maximise the amount of effect captured per shot…in the end, also failed! Angryzzz! In fact, a veteran acquaintance told me he pin-holed the aperture of his lens down to F14.0 so as to ensure his fireworks turned out to be sharp, very strongly-defined streaks. & his shots are beautiful. My compact, can’t match his F14.0, of course. It also can’t match up to the noiseless results the freaking huge sensor of his Nikon D700 delivered at ISO200! All these I can accept, but one of my cousin’s colleague managed to 1-up me by using the burst mode on her camera…& all I can say is her PnS delivered. I guess I’m too inexperienced & nervous on that day. I tink the need for a tripod that is compact yet versatile surfaces again, which brings me to my next topic:

The Jamis Trail X2. Which I tot was a good idea.

The Jamis Trail X2. Which I tot was a good idea.

I seem to be fatally prone to wanting to buy any thing & every thing in sight! This impulse has to stop! Almost bought a solar charger the other day & it took me 2 days to overcome its novelty & accept its impracticality. Saw a bike on the Internet discussion forums & tot it was a good idea too! I dunno what’s wrong with me…this habit…this pervasion…must it see the demise of my wallet? Hence I’m deliberating the Gorillapod purchase till perhaps a week later?

The GorillaPod. Which is a good idea

The GorillaPod. Which is a good idea

Comments
  1. Weiliang says:

    The GorillaPod is sold at a much cheaper price in Hong Kong. You can get a friend who’s going there to help you buy. My friend brought it to a gathering yesterday and I think he said it only costs 6 Sing Dollar there. =)

    • ralliart12 says:

      Hi Weiliang, thanx for commenting. Anyway, can u verify with your fren whether his is from Joby, the original, official manufacturer of Gorillapods? Bcos there’re 3rd-party ones NOT from Joby & feedback on ClubSnap forums (the local photography forum) indicate that the 3rd-party ones have less-durable & weaker joints.

      These 3rd-party ones are going for $2x here; whereas the original ones from Joby are selling for $34 here. Hence the reason I’m kinda inclined towards the authentic one bcos I wouldn’t wan the joints to “lose their grip” (pun intended) when my camera’s perched over the railing of a high wall…catch my drift?

  2. Weiliang says:

    Haha. I don’t think my friend would know the manufacturer cos he said it’s bought from 鴨僚街. His look like the one in your picture and he mentioned the word “Gorilla” too. It looked pretty sturdy when he used it yesterday. =)

    • ralliart12 says:

      I see…which version (size) did ur fren get? i.e. when the 3 legs get folded straight, from what you see, do they exceed 15cm in length?

  3. Weiliang says:

    Haha. Quite hard to gauge. But should be around there cos about the length of a ruler. =)

    • ralliart12 says:

      Would it be the length of a short ruler (15cm), or our long ruler (30cm)? Did your friend used it for his DSLR or compact PnS?

Leave a Reply

