Aftermath of Aquarama’09 a.k.a. Progress of my Photography skills

Posted: June 9, 2009 by ralliart12 in ScratchPad
Tags: , , , , ,

Big bear. Small camera

Big bear. Small camera

Have spent some effort to “formalize” my photography knowledge recently; this act is the direct result of the following catalysts:

  • Sudden influx of free time
  • Current situation of being jobless
  • Recollection of the fact that I own a kick-arse PnS
  • The self-actualization of me wanting to be what everyone think I am, i.e. someone who actually knows something about photography.
  • My friend asking me to take some shots of his shrimps & I dun wanna disappoint (him, not the shrimps) too much.

So I return to the basics, rummaging through tons of online photography sites, i.e. Digital Photography School, PictureCorrect, etc.. I actually strongly recommend these 2 sites; they have enough material to thrill any newbies (a.k.a. me). I’ve now learnt about the exposure triangle, the important semi-auto modes of digital cameras, understanding histograms and how to use exposure (over)compensation, rules of thirds, panning, focus for potrait, landscape, close-up photography, how to auto-focus “correctly”, etc. In addition, I thoroughly went through the extended instruction manual of my camera (currently paused at pg81 of 210), to get to know my “tool” better. This, I have to recommend also, because while reading it, I came to understand the awesomeness that is the LX3. & without doing enough research, homework, expenditure of effort from trawling the data oceans, I will never have discover the power of manual focus. & what a joy it is, using manual focus.

My own interpretation. 1 of 6.

My own interpretation. 1 of 6.

2 of 6.

2 of 6.

3 of 6.

3 of 6.

4 of 6.

4 of 6.

5 of 6.

5 of 6.

6 of 6.

6 of 6.

So armed with this new weapon called Knowledge, I forged ahead to Aquarama with the alliance of a friend and an $8-ticket…only to be defeated by a powerful foe known as Fast Moving Objects! Darn…everything is easy to focus on, until they start moving. For the remains of the week, I went around taking photos of everything, humans, buildings, but I came to acknowledge 3 constants:

  1. Given favourable circumstances, I really dun like to be rushed when taking photo
  2. I really excel at taking photos of objects in my house
  3. U can read all the manuals & site information, but nothing beats Disappointment that manifests itself in an ill-composed shot or an incorrectly-exposed photo. So read more, shoot even more.

I am sorely disappointed that my efforts were not reciprocated with results, but hey, let’s face it: effort that I can dish out from the comforts of my chair & the confines of my room, ain’t quality effort. So just gotta clock more shutter counts and invest more composition before the subtle click. But as soon as I mention this point, I’m gonna stab myself in the foot and state that my best photo (as evaluated by me) from Aquarama is a shot that is totally uncomposed, not adjusted for technical correct-ness and effectiveness. The reason it (or they) stood out is due to the fact that it managed to capture the “moment”. & as with all my better photos, I’m gonna dedicate it to a good friend of mine (in another post).

My attempt @ making a lightbox.

My attempt @ making a lightbox.

According to tutorials I should use flash(es) as light source, but I dun have wireless flash

According to tutorials I should use flash(es) as light source, but I dun have wireless flash

Another view of how the 3 lamps are positioned

Another view of how the 3 lamps are positioned

Dun be mistaken: 1. these LED lamps are definitely enough for a lightbox this size (the following photos are taken at night), 2. the light WILL diffuse EVENLY without any trace of specific bulbs presence

Dun be mistaken: 1. these LED lamps are adequate for a lightbox this size (the following photos are taken at night), 2. the light WILL diffuse EVENLY without traces of specific bulbs' presence

I also conjured a pathetic excuse for a lightbox as shown above. I will post the resulting shots as well. Before I get shot to death, I must say I’m entirely too well-aware that my white balance can be adjusted to be better, some of my shots are extremely over-exposed. I am aware of all those, but this awareness does not preclude laziness. But alas! If u have comments, I welcome them all the same.

This is a 9V battery.

This is a 9V battery.

My current daily beater

My current daily beater

Its see-through caseback

Its see-through caseback

My earphones

My earphones

Random shot of my earphones

Random shot of my earphones

My portable amplifier

My portable amplifier

Internal view

Internal view

I know the exposures gone on this one.

I know the exposure's gone on this one.

This present situation, once again cements my belief (& personal principle) that I will NOT go on & purchase a DSLR. Of course, my current financial position aids this decision very strongly. As a matter of fact, I will hate to have my liking for photography degrade to a crude mechanism of blind gadget-procurement. I will pursue this interest, with a steadfast intensity and yet attempt to enjoy the “journey”, i.e. I literally blazed through 80 pages of my LX3’s instruction manual overnight, hence the “extended” break currently. Let’s hope for my sake, that my skills improve.

P.S. I really need to know how to master the exposure control of my camera to match the final end-result depicted on my monitor.

EDIT: I dunno what occurred, but my ipod screenshots and the product shots are definitely sharper than it appears on my blog. Feel free to request for the originals.

Leave a Reply

