The FX520: 1st impressions

Posted: June 21, 2008 by ralliart12 in Technopia
Tags: , , , , ,

The device encountered its 1st power-up today. The screen protector had a greenish hue to it and it affected the image representation (to the end-viewer), especially in the night. However, the greenish tint isn’t that apparent in bright daylight. The mini-tripod is completely useless, i.e. the ball-&-socket joint can never be tightened fully. That, coupled with the extreme left position of the FX520’s tripod receptacle, meant that I’m not gonna use this mini-tripod anymore (I dun wan this camera to go off-balance & topple over).

So much for low-quality screen protector and lack-lustre mini-tripod 😦

The image quality isn’t that fantastic either, the famous “noise issue” of the Panasonic sensor is beginning to haunt me. I went to my friend’s house-warming and the initial few shots (in daylight), exhibit artifacts that fall slightly below my expected standards, as you can see from the photos below (the SLK is NOT mine):

The only thing cool is the auto-subject-tracking, which really works. Other than that, I guess I’ve made a decision and should by all means, stand by it. Who knows, this camera may grow on me yet…

Leave a Reply

