Items bought during IT Show 2008 – Part 1

Posted: March 13, 2008 by ralliart12 in Technopia
Tags: , , , , , ,

The 1st IT Show of year 2008 is finally over. Previously, I tot I wouldn’t be getting anything there, due to the “GST” effect. But having my existing portable HDD keep running outta space validates the purchase of a new, bigger, better, faster, meaner mobile storage. Anyway my current one is a miserable 60GB(usable: 55.8GB).

I was deciding between the Western Digital Passport (above) or the Buffalo MiniSation. As you can see, the Passport is very sleek, very black, very thin, in other words, very “me”. But I got the B.MiniStation in the end, why?

Well, 1st of all, I like underdogs: Buffalo was only famous in Singapore until like recently, & that was for its networking products. 2ndly, shock-resistant bumper casing surrounding the internal SATA HDD with minimal contact points; English: the real fragile HDD inside is “floating” in the midst of 4 struts on the inner side. 3rdly, I checked the very recent price lists for this series & even physically checked out the Challenger @ IMM; well, the 250GB version was selling for ~$279, & the IT Show have the 320GB like for, $249!!! Oh yah, did I mention: TurboUSB & the wrap-around cable?

Funny thing though: there were “used space” inside my unit already, & I couldn’t detect anything even though I have “show hidden files” activated…hmm…if you fellows know something I don’t, pls drop a comment. Hope it’s not bad sector. & oh yah, I need to format it into NTFS to support huge >4GB files.

Comments
  1. […] I initiated data migration & consolidation of my portable storages into my new MiniStation. Feels good: write speed as […]

Leave a Reply

